The Breast Cancer Site

Friday, April 30, 2010

Chemo Nr. 2

Chemo Nr. 2 was on 4/29 and went by relatively unspectacular.
The Doctor and the Nurses really made a point of making me feel better and gave me some medicine (yes the really good stuff) to help me calm down.
I went to the room that has beds in it because I was nervous and sat next to two older ladies who were quite friendly.
I was able to eat lunch, able to handle the Meds pretty well.
When I was all done M. and I were even able to stop by a coffee shop and have a drink....

Side effects aren't too terrible yet. I feel a bit tired and sore. Nausea is saying hello today, but I can handle it.

Tuesday, April 27, 2010

Losing my hair...



When I was told that I will have to get Chemo, one of my biggest fears was losing my hair. So in anticipation of the matter I had cut my hair short...today, exactly 12 days after my first chemo treatment, I woke up with a little bald spot in the front of my head.


Terrified of what it would look like when all my hair started coming out, I decided to buzz my hair down to 4 mm...

Yes, I cried for a second and got upset. But, now that it has been a few days...I know I can make it through this, too!

Monday, April 12, 2010

Exact diganosis

The exact medical diagnosis that I am currently faced with is:

Invasive ductale Mamma-CA right
ypT1bm ypNo (0/2sn), L0 G3 R0 (triple negative extern)

You want to know what all that means?







I HAVE NO IDEA!

Friday, April 9, 2010

Chemo Nr. 1

My appointment time for Chemo Nr. 1 was on 4/8/2010 at 10:30 am.

When I was released from the hospital one week before the Doc told me to make an appointment with the Oncologists before that, so I got an appointment at 8 am the same day. Since both places are in the same building no problem, right-wrong!

We sat around until 10 am in the waiting area, watching everybody else called in before me even though I was the very first patient there. So finally I went and asked what was going on...they had forgotten me. When I finally did see the Doc she asked why I was there...well "I was told to come, I was hoping you would know why!"....She had no idea why! So we just kinda sat there, me crying, and her telling me about Chemo...

At 11 am I went up to the Dayclinic to get my "treatment". The nurses at that station are just absolutely wonderful, and helped me ease a bit of my anxiety.

At around 1 pm I was finally hooked up to my first Chemo medicine. Now they hook you up to this bright red, very poisonous looking stuff and say "this will take about 45 minutes, it's best you don't move much so that the needle doesn't accidentally come out.." Ok, no problem, I can sit still for 45 minutes. But then I started feeling faint...."is it normal to feel a bit faint and heavy on the chest" I ask the nurse who in response runs off, and suddenly I have a Dr. and 4 nurses standing over me, putting shots of something in my port, stopping the Chemo IV, hooking machines to me, out of the corner of my eye I see oxygen being brought in. I was told I had an allergic reaction...Can you say PANIC ATTACK!!! It took me a good hour and a little talk with Dr. Wallwiener to get back to "normal".
2 more doses of chemo medicine, some cortisone, and some stomach medicine later I was done! My first Chemo treatment was over at 6:30 pm. My Mom picked M. and I up. From home we walked to the store, got some stuff, ate dinner, watched "Germany's next top model" and I was asleep by 10 pm.

Wednesday, April 7, 2010

Gentest


There are two known genetical mutations that cause about 5-10% of the breast cancer cases. Something like that anyways. If you are a carrier of the mutation, your risk of of becoming one of such "cases" is exponentially higher, as well as, the risk of having ovarian cancer...

Why do I write about it? Well I had the test done today. Yes, I already have the stupid cancer. However, the fact that I am 27 makes me be somewhat out of the norm...hence we would like to check it.

If I am a carrier-mastectomy on both sides is what I will be sugested, and it would affect my sister, mother...etc.

If I am not a carrier-no mastectomy neccessary.

Of course I worry, but I am in such a daze...it is all unreal at the moment.

We'll get the result "faster", so I will have it before Chemo is over....that way I can hear what the Docs suggest before I have surgery


Sunday, April 4, 2010

We are parents!

YES, you read correctly! We are parents of 9 frozen embryos that will be waiting for us at the women's hospital!
Just thought I'd share that this part of the surgery went well, too!

Surgery take one!

I had surgery last week and now I am finally home.

The doctors removed 2 lymphnodes, and both were cancer free-no cancer cells. Phew! Good news!

I had this plan that I would show the hospital staff how great I was doing and thought that they would release me faster that way-didn't work!

I hate surgeries, and I hate hospitals. I ended up in a room with a snoring person, so I got no sleep really. So when they told me that I was being released-JOY!
Happy Easter to everyone~H.




Thursday, April 1, 2010

No metastasis



Nothing more, just wanted to note that I was told (as a side note) that there were no metastasis found...