We-me, M. my parents, my sister, friends, those that care-have almost made it through Chemo!
M. and I got there a little bit before 8 o'clock and things moved in normal pace. I was a bit irritable and annoyed though when they did finally hook me up to the first Chemo at around 11 am. At this point it was in the mid 80's and no A/C and I immediately realized that the medicine was dripping much slower than normal.
I got hooked up to the second bag around 12:30, and again....reaaaaaaaaaaly slow. So I asked the nurse why that was the case, and she didn't even look at me or the IV and just walked off saying "it's all good". Now all the nurses and Doctors have been nothing but wonderful and amazing to me and have tried to make this as easy as possible, but this particular one...really? I wanted to let her have a piece of my mind, instead I cried.
At this point my Mom and M. were both sitting next to, knowing that the only thing they can do in moments like these is let me cry and tell them what I am upset about. Tell them what I want, why I am angry....
At about 2 pm I was hooked up to the third and final bag of Chemo, I again told the rude nurse that it was dripping very slow and she went to the other nurse saying "Could you check on this, she thinks it's too slow!" and yes, the other nice nurse turned up the drip for me, so we were out of there a little before 4 pm....Long Day!
As soon as we got home, I went straight to bed and did not get up till the next day around 10:30 am. To be honest, I have gotten up out of bed, showered, did some laundry, fixed some food...but most of my time is spent in bed....
Side effects are worse than ever: fatigue, nausea (can't even drink water), head aches, dry mouth....

No comments:
Post a Comment