The Breast Cancer Site

Saturday, November 27, 2010

I am a changed person.

Yes, I know it sounds cheesy, but reality is that I will never be the same person I was 9 months ago before I was told I have breast cancer. The illness, the treatment, this entire experience has changed me and there is no going back.

The "big part" of radiation is officially over, I have 7 more "boosts" and then treatment is coming to an end. I should be happy and excited right? I am not. I am scared. Terrified. My insomnia has gotten worse, my fears and anxieties bigger than ever. The "what ifs" are louder and more frequent ever...

"What if it comes back?"
"What if I cannot work anymore?"
"What if the Doctors missed something?"
"What if the pain does not go away?"
"What if I cannot handle life anymore?"
"What if the scar does not get better?"
"What if, what if, what if....?"

I will never be the same person....

Wednesday, November 24, 2010

Thanksgiving, thankfulness....



Today is Thanksgiving. Not beeing American, Thanksgiving was not something I experienced until I lived in Arkansas, but while living in the US I learned to enjoy this day, as it all about beeing grateful for family, friends, food, and everything else.

As I am trying to develop an attitude of gratitude I will let y'all know what I am thanful for this year:

I am so thankful to be alive. It is so basic, but nothing would matter if I was not aive.

I am thankful that I found the cancer in time, that it had not spread, that I was able to get and afford treatment, that I was able to handle treatment pretty well, and that treatment seems to be coming to an end soon.

I am thankful for a wonderful husband that has been on my side through all of this, that sat next to me during every single chemo, comes to radiation with me, and lets me be upset when I need to.

I am thankful for the most amazing family that I know I can count on and that has helped me out so many many many times.

I am grateful for my amazing friends. They have helped me get it all out when I needed to and talked to me about something else when I needed distraction.

I am grateful for the Doctors that respect me and my choices and the nurses that have made this journey possible.

I am thankful to live in a country where I have affordable health insurance that pays for my treatment, and in a country where my job is secured even though I have not been at work for 8 months.

I am grateful that I have food to eat every day and clean water to drink every day.

I am thankful that I had the opportunity to travel this year.

I am thankful to live in this wonderful city with amazing woods around us.

Sunday, November 21, 2010

Forgiving vs. saying "I am sorry", giving vs. taking

Ok, again this will be a bit off topic. yes people, I have tons of time to think these days and not everything can be cancer related. Indirectly, however, really all that is going on, everything I think about these days has something to do with MY disease.

So these days I have been thinking about forgiving and saying "I am sorry". I am not exactly good at either one.
Yes, I hold grudges. I don't want to, but I find myself doing it nonetheless. I know that once I have been hurt by someone too badly, I have a hard time letting go.
I also struggel with apologizing. I can see when I did something wrong and have no problem admitting it to myself but when it comes to others, I struggel.

Anyways, since I lack in those areas I want to make a point of becoming better at them. As I decided to do so, I was wondering which of the two is more important? My personal conclusion is that the area that you are lacking in more needs (maybe) more attention....HOWEVER, both are equally important to oneself and to others. It is like giving and taking. We need to be good in both....

What do you think, I wonder? Forgiving or apologizing? Which one is more important?

Monday, November 15, 2010

Conformity


Those that know me a bit better may know that I have always had an issue with conformity. I am of the opinion that everybody conforms to something, if you are Sorority girl with UGG boots and shorts than that's what you conform to, and if you are a punk with green and blue hair...well, than you conform to the punk culture. I am no different, I conform. However, I try think on my own, try not to get caught up in the superficial things too much. I often forget.

In the last 9 months I have had a lot of time to think and a lot of different experiences. For several months I did not fit the image of a woman. I challenged what people believe a woman is supposed to look like....and trust me, most did not hide their shock and disgust. So, what is a woman supposed to look like? What is she supposed to act like? Is she less of a woman because of short hair, or because she protests against the war, or because she forms her very own opinion on complex topics? PLEASE!

What does conformity have to do with breast cancer? Not much really. I just thought about it and since this is my blog I thought I'd write about it.



Friday, November 12, 2010

Positivity


There are days when it is easy to be positive and then there are those when it is increasingly hard. My "homework" for this week was to tell myself: "Ok, 2010 wasn't quite my year, but it's almost over....2011, however, that's GOING to be my year. Double 1!!!"
So....that is what I tell me.
My application for "rehab" will be sent off Monday. Fingers crossed and thumbs squeezed that I get my location and that I get to do it as an out-patient. PLEASE! PLEASE! PLEASE!!!
Any thoughts on positive thoughts? Do you believe that they work?

PS: This is totally a kind request to all of you to cross fingers, squeeze thumbs...whatever...in hopes that the German government agrees with my rehab plans and doesn't deny my request! PLEAS?!

Wednesday, November 10, 2010

Dull


As I walk across the bridge, feeling dull, like my head is not in the right spot, like I have no energy I think.
It is fall. I have spent two entire seasons with cancer. I hate you cancer. I hate you because you scare me, because you make me feel weak, because you have turned my life around, because I worry even more since you are in my life. I hate you. I hate you.
Where has the summer gone? What happened this summer? Spring? Was there a spring?
Yes, of course I was there. I know there was the world cup, a brief heat wave. But I did not get to live this summer, and that my friends is something I will never get back. The cancer has robbed me of two entire season from 2010! And I am not ok with that...I am sad about it,
disappointed..."but at least I am on the road to remission"...baaaaaaaaaaaah!

And as I walk across the bridge with these thoughts I look up:


"There is a lighter sky somewhere in the distance, not that far away"

What do YOU do when you feel dull?

Sunday, November 7, 2010

Things I get tired of hearing....

When you have a diagnosis like cancer people seem to handle it very differently when they find out. Some will not ever call you. Some only send a text message. Some are suddenly back in your life....

There are certain "standard" sentences that I have heared....agh, I have no idea how many times.

"If there is anything I can do, just let me know." The sentence itself is not so bad. It is bad when it comes from someone that I have not heard from since, or from somebody that I have called since and "helping" me was just too much in that moment!

"All will be goo. I just KNOW!" I don't think I have to explain why this one REALLY PISSES ME OFF! You don't know. I don't know. The Doctors don't know. Time will tell if I fought hard enough, if the medication worked....

"You are so strong!" No I am not. Not at all. I do what I have to, I do my best, but I am weak, very weak!

"In the end this will have just been a trial" TRIAL? Is it a trial if I punch you in the face? Maybe! There is no "just" in the same context as having cancer, getting chemo, and fighting....this will never have been "just" a trial.

THANK YOU!

~H.

Saturday, November 6, 2010

About being sick and being tired.

Ok, if you know me, you know how much I hate being sick. Yes, everybody hates being sick, but over the last hmmm....let's say four years or so, I have spent more time being sick than being healthy and I hate it. It sucks. A lot.
2010 has not been my year I'd say. I have been sick, and off work since March, it is Novemeber. Now I am nursing a nasty cold. It's been going on for a while. I would never even complain about it, but I am tired of being sick. I can tell how my body is lacking energy. No energy to fight this. No strength. I just have to deal it. Oh, and since it would be counterproductive I am not allowed to take Vitamins (in particular Vitamin C)....

I used to feel tired. These days it's called FATIGUE. Side effect from Chemo and radiation. "Normally" it goes away within three months after finishing treatment. Sometimes it doesn't ever.
Cool prospect huh?!

Yes, I am a bit dark these days...the stupid dark grey weather sure does not lift my spirits.

Wednesday, November 3, 2010

"Pink Fatigue"

Funny thing, I received an e-mail yesterday from a dear friend. She asked about my opinion on the "pink issue". Do I think it is offensive when people "commiserate with a breast cancer survivor by buying pink stuff?". I have been thinking about this a lot lately. I hope that this post may be a bit more s"structured" than the response I sent her, but if you don't feel like reading a long post, you better go read something else!



In short the answer is "Yes, mostly yes at least"! Let me explain...



There is the emotional issue:



1. I do wear a pink bracelet because it makes a statement. It helped me feel a bit more secure when I was hairless, because I hoped that those staring would see it and feel stupid. I am saying "I AM A SURVIVOR!" when I wear it, and my family members that wear it, say "we are on her side".



2. Those people that buy pink junk and feel nice and cozy at night because they "did something" tend to be the same people that turn their head at the sight of a hairless girl and "whisper" to their friend "look at her". There is a lot I could say about those people, in the end I hope they never have to experience the pain comments like that can cause!



3. Pink IS the WRONG color. Pink is a very "cute" color. Let me tell you there is nothing CUTE or SEXY about breast cancer. It is HORRIBLE, PAINFUL, UGLY! Going through treatments is not cute either. Nor is recovery. Also, pink is a "girly" color. Men are affected by breast cancer, too. Now not as often as women, sure. But that makes it that much harder for men that are affected, I think?! Some suggest a barb wire ribbon to represent cancer. Barb wire because it is a tough, painful, difficult thing. I think green could be a good color, green is the color of hope-something we all need-, as well as, the color of MONEY!

4. There are many women out there, that feel like "celebrating" is certainly the wrong term. We are suffering. We are tired. We are sick. We are mourning.



In the end it seems, life is always about money, so is this issue:



5. Let's think this through. Do you think a pink tote, flag, ribbon, shoe, scooter...(fill in any of the "pink" products) makes a difference in finding a cure?! Really? I don't think so. It's marketing. A way to make the customer buy the company's junk, just because "it has the pink ribbon" on it. Well, look into it. Not everything that is pink helps "finding a cure" or "supports survivors". I am serious, companies all over the world use pink to up sales...Yes, there are several organizations and foundations in the cancer research field that are worth supporting, but be picky!

6. It's lack of proper treatment and too late detection that causes people to die of breast cancer. I was lucky, I did my self-exam and pushed my Dr. to investigate the matter. There are too many women that neglect their self-exam, or may not even know what to look for when doing it. There are too many women that cannot afford a mammogra, don't even talk about treatment. Let's push for more research funds, for more treatment options, for better health care, for a health system that allows anybody to get the treatment they need to survive without financially ruining themselves. I am fortunate. I live in a country were I am protected. I still have my job. My treatment is almost entirely paid for by the insurance. I even get paid most of my salary. Imagine the same scenario in the US were I worked as an hourly for one of the bigger companies -that's right, M. and I would be financially ruined, that's a sure thing. Doing your part in changing that is worth a million more than wearing pink shoes.

7. Finally, look at WHO is supporting the pink campaign. Let's take Estee Lauder as an example, they have a big campaign called "the pledge" or something. Well, their products are filled, I mean jam packed, with known carcinogens...Yes, those creams and lotions "may" cause cancer. It's the same as when Philip Morris has little "how to quit smoking" pamphlets in their smokes packs. STUPID! MESSED UP!


In the end, my friends, it takes more than buying stuff, talking about being a supporter, or posting on facebook what color bra you are wearing...

You are no supporter of breast cancer awareness because you buy a pink ribbon.

You are no environmentalist because you donate money to Greenpeace.

You are no Christian because you wear a cross.

You are no Buddhist because you like what the Dalai Lama says.

You are no humanitarian because you donate your old stuff to the Salvation Army.

You are not a punk because you have green hair.



Yes, you are busy! I know, we all are! But if you want to stand for something than, in my opinion, you should a) know what it is you stand for b) own it and not just say "I am__"
I know-that's a lot!

If you are more interested to find out more about this, look up:

http://www.stopbreastcancer.org/ --> though keep in mind, that they too are competing for funds!


And if you want to support a breast cancer survivor you can do more than buying pink stuff-call, just to talk. Let her/him cry. Let her/him complain without telling them that life isn't that bad..I could go on and on with good advice, but being a friend is ultimately the right thing to do!

Do you have an opinion on the topic?

Lots of love!

~H.

PS: This is just my opinion...


Tuesday, November 2, 2010

Race for the Cure!

I was asked today, for the first time, why I walked the Race for the Cure! The question was "what did it mean to you, and why did you walk it 3 weeks after having surgery?".

Well, I decided to share the answer with you, too! When I found out I had cancer I was scared, scared to be sick, scared that maybe I found it too late.

When I found out I would need chemo I was scared, scared that I would not feel well, of being sick.
Feeling scared can paralize you. So, I decided to set myself a goal. No matter what, I would make it to that Race, and I would walk it. I had hoped to be able to run it, but I did not make it...


For me, the race was emotional. I was able to do what I had set my mind to. And while all that came to walk with me, walked "for me", I walked for all the beautiful women that I met along the way. I dedicated my baloon to those that did not make it, those that are alone, those too weak to walk, those too scared to fight....I have been incredibly fortunate, and they helped me realize it!
Picture by U. Rieger