The Breast Cancer Site

Sunday, January 30, 2011

Happy Birthday!

Today is M.'s birthday!
I am so lucky to have such an amazing husband. There was not one moment during this stupid cancer story that he made me feel as though I was alone in this. He has been the most patient and supporting person I could wish for. He knows when to leave me alone and when to be on my side.
I never take him or what he does for granted.
I know he has been scared, tired, exhausted, and worried. He has had to bottle up these feelings a lot, as so not to make me feel bad or to be the "strong one"!

HAPPY BIRTHDAY

Thursday, January 27, 2011

Uff...I am so tired from all of this!

That is all I wanted to share.
I am so tired. So tired of feeling worried. So tired of explaining. So tired of the surprise on people's face when I say "I have/had breast cancer. I was 27 when I was diagnosed". . I am tired of people pretending like everything is fine...

What you-though chances are I do not mean YOU-may not understand is how much this has changed! What does "normal" mean?? Is it normal that I worry, that I have panic attacks everyday, that my energy levels are that of a 60 year old woman, that I have acute risk for osteoporoses, that my brain is mushed, that my bones hurt all the time, that I have headaches...the list goes on and on and on! All I am trying to say that nothing in my life is normal, normal would be to feel like a healthy 28 year old, instead I feel like an old 50 year old!

Of course, life goes on, and I will continue to answer "ok" when people ask me how I am doing, because that is what I do!

Lots of love, have an amazing weekend!!!
-H.

Fat liver!

Oh the joys of side effects from chemotherapy!!
It is not enough that I have a different sense of smell and taste, that I suffer from fatigue, that my hair feels different and that the color has changed. It does not suffice that my brain is not working properly and that I have a different perception of myself! No, no, no....let us add one more thing!
I have a fat liver. Yes, you read correctly. Like that of an alcoholic. It is not swollen significantly, and it should go back to normal.
Yes, it SHOULD...there are so many damn "shoulds" in my life these days.
- the cancer should be gone
- you should feel better
- within a year you should feel less fatigue
- your skin should not stay this dry
- your pain should go away
- you should not get any problems with lymphodema

Whatever! I know why they say "should" and not will, or is...they don't want to give the false impression of anything being certain in this stupid cancer world!!!! Cancer world, yes it is a different world, one that I hope you will only ever get to experience from the outside because it sucks and makes for bad stories!!!

Wednesday, January 26, 2011

Recovery

So far, recovery seems to be going alright....Rehab has helped me at understanding my body a bit better! SLOW DOWN is what my entire body has been screaming out loud at me, and at times at least, I just ignored it and went went went....No more! I work out daily, but with a mindful ear, listening to my body! When I feel hungry I eat. When I feel thirsty I drink....I want to do much better at giving my body everything it needs to heal and recover!

Saturday, January 15, 2011

My return to the workforce!

I have been asked here and there and especially from my boss, when I will return to my lovely job!
TOO SOON!
Rehab will end on the 25th, after that I will be sick for another 4 weeks, and than I will return step by step:
1st 2 weeks: 2hrs/day
3rd-4th week: 4hrs/day
5th-6th week:6hrs/day
and then the full return.

My bosses comment: "Why do you let the Doctors stop you and don't just return to work"

Whatever! Whatever! Whatever!

Let me tell you something about being sick for 10 months, having 2 surgeries in that time, chemo therapy, and radiation...you are freaking exhausted and tired after all that. I just got done pumping my body full with POISON and it has NOT RECOVERED YET!!!!
So, I will take my sweet time before I return, because I deserve it! Yes I do!

Saturday, January 8, 2011

Rehab

So, I started rehab on Tuesday! Yeah, it is a good, very good, thing I applied to come home at night.
I think I would die of boredom there! Other than that it is pretty ok. I have a room that use for the occasional nap, and to keep all my stuff. I get massages, fango treatment, lymphdrainage, work out with a 70 year old lady.....
I am a good 40 years below the average age, and accordingly slow paced are things for me. That's maybe a good thing for me though? Anyways, I am getting into a schedule, have to get up at 6:30 (which is still later than I did when I was working) and that's good. Having something to do is good to, and the massages, and fango make me feel good!

As a side note, you may know that I hate sand. I mean I really do. Going to the beach is ok, but I still hate the sand. Well, of course, one of my treatments is that I have to knead hot sand for 10 minutes every day! AWESOME!

Good bye Menopause!


Without going into too much details, I think I may be coming out of Menopause. Yes it is good news, but it makes me miserable! MISERABLE, BLOATED, BITCHY, IRRITABLE, CRAMPY! UGHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH!

Sunday, January 2, 2011

Happy 2011! Thank you 2010

So, 2011 will be a fabulous year!!! It is decided!
2010 was hard, difficult, and challenging...but, and this is the honest truth, I am thankful for everything that happened! Of course, I would never choose to be sick if I was to make that call. The illness has taught me so much though, things that I may have never learned before!
Most important lessons of 2010:

Life is too short.
Stop worrying.
My family and friends are wonderful.